Home European Certificates
European Certification and Qualification Association (ECQA) Print E-mail


The ECQA is the result of a number of EU supported initiatives in the last ten years where in the European Union Life Long Learning Program different educational developments decided to follow a joint process for the certification of persons in the industry.
Through the ECQA it becomes possible to attend courses for a specific profession in one country and perform a Europe-wide agreed test at the end of the course. The certificate will be recognized by European training organizations and institutions in 18 member countries.


Why is such a Certificate of Interest?

European work forces are highly flexible and need to work for industries across Europe. Imagine that you are attending a course in one country and that you perform and pass the exam at the end of the course. The certificate will then be recognized by certifiers and training organisations in all European countries including large countries like France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Scandinavian countries, all Eastern European countries, etc. This will automatically lead to a higher recognition of the certificate and higher chances of working for customers in an open European market.


How to Cooperate with ECQA?

  • You find a description of the different roles and memberships in the organisation under membership.
  • You find guidelines, application forms, and agreement templates under guidelines.
  • You find the persons to be addressed under contacts.
  • You find details about related conferences and events in Europe under EU Cert conferences and EuroSPI conferences.

Open your mind and become a member of an Europe-wide collaboration and strategy.


EU Projects that Helped Building the ECQA Platform Strategy:

  • FP5 Project MM 1032 CREDIT: Development of skills portals, skills assessment functions, standards for skills sets in Europe (1998 - 2001).
  • E-Learning Project EPI: Development of new learning methods and portals integrating e-learning with skills assessment (2003 - 2005).
  • E-Learning Project PLATO: Application of EPI portals to new ways of certification delivery between universities and industry in placement schema (2006 - 2007).
  • LLP project EQN: Design of Europe-wide valid quality criteria to empower an Europe-wide quality control in course delivery and certification for courses in the LLP schema. These guidelines formed the basis to form the ECQA association legally with defined quality and certification guidelines (2005 - 2007).
  • LLP multilateral project EU Cert Campus: An online training campus has been established supporting skills assessment, online training, certification and a trainer pool (2008 - 2009).
  • LLP multilateral project DEUCert: Dissemination of ECQA and the EU Cert Campus takes place in all European countries and regional certification centers are being set up (2010 - 2011).

For more information please visit


Sponsored by





Powered by Joomla!. Designed by: colourful theme (video) cakephp framework Valid XHTML and CSS.